Two China Real Estate Projects Among 11 Feted By Urban Land Institute

Real Estate

Urban Land Institute

Two real estate development projects in China were among 11 from around the world feted as winners of the 2019 Urban Land Institute Global Awards for Excellence in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday.

The annual awards by the are among the real estate industry’s most prestigious and demonstrate “a comprehensive level of quality and a forward-looking approach to development and design,” ULI said in a statement.

The U.S. had seven winners, China two, Singapore one, and Europe one. The two China projects were developed by Hong Kong real estate billionaire Vincent Lo’s Shui On Land.   ULI first announced the winners earlier this month.

The 11 projects in alphabetical order and as introduced by ULI are:

–1800 Arch Street, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Developers: Liberty Property Trust / Liberty Property 18th & Arch LP, Comcast Corporation; Designers: Foster and Partners, Kendall/Heaton Associates)

–Cornell Tech Campus Framework Plan & Phase I Site Development, New York, New York (Developers: Forest City Ratner Corporation; Hudson Companies; Related Companies; U3 Advisors; Cornell University; New York City Economic Development Corporation; Designers: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP; James Corner Field Operations; Consultants: Karen Backus & Associates; Sirefman Ventures; Tishman Construction; AKF / In-Posse; Robert Silman; Philip Habib & Associates (PHA); Two Twelve; Fried Frank; Jaros, Baum & Bolles; DeSimone Engineers; Cerami & Associates; Pentagram; Gleeds; Langan Engineering; RWDI Consulting Engineers and Scientists; Brandston Partnership)

–Empire Stores, Brooklyn, New York (Developers: Midtown Equities, HK Organization, Rockwood Capital; Designers: Studio V Architecture, S9 Architecture; Associate Architects: Perkins Eastman; General Contractor: Veracity Partners; Landscape Designer: Future Green Studio; Structural Engineer: Robert Silman Associates; MEP Engineer: Mottola Rini Engineers; LEED Consultant: Spiezle Architectural Group; Lighting Consultant: Tillotson Design Associates)

–Gathering Place, Tulsa, Oklahoma (Developers: George Kaiser Family Foundation; Designers: Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects)

–Guoco Tower, Singapore (Developer: Guocoland; Designer: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP)

–Hoffman-Madison Waterfront (The Wharf Phase I), Washington, D.C. (Developers: Hoffman-Madison Waterfront: Hoffman & Associates, Madison Marquette, ER Bacon Development, City Partners, Paramount Development, Triden Development; Designers: Perkins Eastman, Studio MB, Kohn Pedersen Fox (KPF), Fox Architects, Rockwell Group, BBG-BBGM, Handel Architect, WDG, Cunningham Quill, SmithGroup JJR, MTFA, SK&I, Landscape Architecture Bureau, Lee and Associates, Nelson Byrd Woltz, Michael Vergason Landscape Architects, Parker Rodriguez, ZGF, Moffat & Nichol, RicheyWorks

–International Market Place, Honolulu, Hawaii (Developer: Taubman Centers, Inc.; Designers: 505 Design, JPRA Architects, WCIT architects, HLB Lighting, (WKM) Walters Kimura, Motoda, Inc., BKBC Architects)

–Knowledge and Innovation Community, Shanghai, China (Developer: Shui On Land; Designers: Skidmore Owings & Merrill LLP, Palmer & Turner, Atkins, Charpentier Architecture Design, Terry Farrell & Partners, Tongji Design Institute, BWSS, Gensler, Tianhua, Leigh & Orange, Hassell, 3XN, AECOM, EMBT)

–Lingnan Tiandi Lot 1, Foshan, Guangdong, China (Developer: Shui On Land; Designers: Ben Wood Studio Shanghai, Skidmore Owings & Merrill LLP)

–Moscow Street Program, Moscow, Russia (Developer: Department of Overhaul of the City of Moscow; Designers: Strelka KB, Djao-Rakitine, Snøhetta, West 8, Topotek 1, Martha Schwartz Partners, OKRA, Karres + Brands)

–The Scioto Peninsula Cultural District, Columbus, Ohio (Developers: The Columbus Downtown Development Corporation, Capitol South Community Urban Redevelopment Corporation; Designers: MKSK, Jerome Scott Architects, Allied Works Architecture, The Olin Studio, Ralph Appelbaum Associates)

The winners were selected by an international jury made up of leading ULI members representing multidisciplinary real estate expertise, including finance, planning, development, design, and other professional services. In addition to jury chairman Jacinta McCann, global design advisor to AECOM,  jury members were Stuart Ackerberg, chief executive officer, Ackerberg, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Amy Coburn, university architect/director of planning design & construction, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Antonio Fiol-Silva, founding principal, SITIO architecture + urbanism, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Michael Grove, principal and chair of landscape architecture, civil engineering, and ecology, Sasaki Associates, Watertown, Massachusetts; Blake Olafson, managing partner, Asia Capital Real Estate Pte Ltd, Singapore; Gayle Starr, managing director, Prologis, San Francisco, California, and Becky Zimmermann, president, Design Workshop, Denver, Colorado.

The Awards for Excellence program was established in 1979 and subsequently expanded to a global program, ULI said. Projects must be financially viable, substantially complete, and in stabilized operation to be eligible for the awards. The criteria for the awards include leadership, market acceptance, relevance and positive contribution to the community, environmental stewardship and resiliency, replicability, and financial success.

–Follow me @rflannerychina

Articles You May Like

Federal appeals court blocks Biden’s new student loan relief plan
Warner Bros. Discovery tells NBA it intends to match Amazon’s media rights package
Tread Carefully With COBRA, A Snakepit Of Problems
Spot ether ETFs are set to trade Tuesday. Here’s what it means for the Ethereum blockchain
Can Community And EMS Partnerships Prevent Falls From Becoming The Next Big Epidemic?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *